ID students take first and second place in Chicago Innovation Awards Scholarship Competition

Students Thomas Gaskin, Maggee Bond, Anushree Jain, and Alisa Weinstein placed first with their project “Catalyst” and Fernando De Buen, Brian Lucas, Amanda Rosenberg, Evan Scott, and Ariana Shadlyn placed second with their project “Axon”.

Chicago Innovation Awards and IIT Stuart partnered to host the Chicago Innovation Awards Scholarship Competition, providing students a unique opportunity to apply their knowledge to finding solutions for under-served or unmet needs. 110 students competed this year for awards totaling $10,000.

Two IIT Institute of Design student projects placed in the competition:

First Place
Catalyst-Solutionset_1Thomas Gaskin (MDes/MBA, 2014), Maggee Bond (MDes, 2014), Anushree Jain (MDes, 2014), and Alisa Weinstein (MDes, 2013) took the grand prize with their project "Catalyst", a web-based service to connect scientists with specialized lab instruments. Read more

Second Place
Screen-Shot-2014-04-02-at-10.10.14-AMFernando Jose de Buen Lopez (MDes/MBA, 2015), Brian Lucas (MDes, 2015), Amanda Rosenberg (MDes/MBA, 2015), Evan Scott (MDes/MBA, 2015), and Ariana Shadlyn's (MDes/MBA, 2015) project "Axon", an international marketplace for healthcare that connects cost-conscious patients to medical services offered by accredited professionals placed second. Watch the video.

The awards ceremony will be held on April 9, 2014 to honor the students. Attend to congratulate and support the winners and to find out more about how this collaborative competition enables students to advance their understanding of innovation and entrepreneurship.